In the Morning I Am So Tall

Posted: February 27, 2014 in Art Quilts, Events, Paintings in cloth, Uncategorized, Walking
Tags: , , , , , , ,

In the Morning I am So Tall

I was thrilled to learn I got two pieces in a show at Somethings Looming Gallery in Reading. The show, Me Myself and I opens April 12. Naturally with a title like that, they were looking for self portraits. But I balked – the closest I came was one called “In the Morning I am So Tall.” That showed my shadow!!

The other that was accepted is a portrait of my “interior life” at least when I lived in Pittsburgh. It is called “Haven?” I worked many years in the steel industry, and can identify with the feeling that the factory takes over your life. The bits of downtown that show look as far away and unattainable as Oz.

Comments
  1. Amazing piece. Your shadow self is quite thought-provoking.

    Like

  2. Ruthanne says:

    Congratulations, Marty! I always take a shadow “selfie” on every shoot. xoxo

    Like

  3. Congratulations Marty! Wonderful piece!

    Like

Leave a Reply

